The BEST Episodes of Clarissa Explains It All

Every episode ever - ranked by fan votes!

Last Updated: Sep 1, 2020

Network: Nickelodeon

Clarissa is an average teenage girl living in suburban America. She dreams of one day getting her drivers license, killing her annoying little brother, and going to college. As events unfold in her life, Clarissa explains to the viewer the motivations behind people's actions.

Clarissa's Crush

#1 - Clarissa's Crush

Season 2 - Episode 1 - Aired Feb 19, 1992

Clarissa gets a major crush on local weatherman Flip Fontana. But she's in for a big disappointment when she finally meets him.

star 8.33
3 votes
No T.V.

#2 - No T.V.

Season 1 - Episode 3 - Aired Mar 23, 1991

Janet decides a no TV week is in order so while the rest of the family have the times of their lives, Clarissa struggles to see her beloved TV again.

star 8.05
37 votes
Brain Drain

#3 - Brain Drain

Season 1 - Episode 9 - Aired May 18, 1991

After taking an IQ test, Ferguson has himself convinced that he's a genius. Attempting to prove him wrong and show him up, Clarissa joins him on the game show Brain Drain.

star 8.00
2 votes
Total TV

#4 - Total TV

Season 2 - Episode 9 - Aired Aug 15, 1992

Clarissa finds a topic for her school project- TV. She has to watch for 24 hours in order to make observations for her report. However, a plot created by Ferguson makes her think she's lost her mind from watching so much television.

star 8.00
1 votes
The Flu

#5 - The Flu

Season 4 - Episode 1 - Aired Mar 13, 1993

When Marshall and Janet come down with the flu, it's up to Clarissa and Ferguson to take care of the household chores. But trouble ensues when Ferguson buys nothing but chocolate from the grocery store and a big snowstorm leaves them snowed in the house without any water or real food.

star 8.00
3 votes
Editor In Chief

#6 - Editor In Chief

Season 5 - Episode 3 - Aired Nov 13, 1993

Clarissa learns a few lessons about responsibility when she becomes the editor in chief for her school newspaper.

star 8.00
1 votes
The Bully

#7 - The Bully

Season 1 - Episode 7 - Aired May 11, 1991

When a bully bullies Ferguson into giving him Clarissa's walkman, Clarissa meets up with the bully to get her stuff back.

star 7.57
7 votes
School Picture

#8 - School Picture

Season 1 - Episode 2 - Aired Apr 27, 1991

Clarissa and her friend Jody want to wear the most unique clothes to school for Picture Day. However, Clarissa has to convince her mom to let her wear something out of the ordinary.

star 7.55
11 votes
Sick Days

#9 - Sick Days

Season 1 - Episode 13 - Aired Jun 1, 1991

Trying to get out of a part in a school pageant, Clarissa plans to fake sick and miss it. However, trouble ensues when the pageant turns out to be better than expected, including an appearance by Queen Latifah, and Clarissa ends up getting sick for real.

star 7.50
2 votes
Urge to Drive

#10 - Urge to Drive

Season 1 - Episode 4 - Aired May 4, 1991

While trying to buy a 1976 Gremlin, Sam and Clarissa take on jobs selling Christmas cards door to door in July.

star 7.28
36 votes
Clarissa Makes a Cake

#11 - Clarissa Makes a Cake

Season 1 - Episode 10 - Aired May 25, 1991

Clarissa plans to help celebrate her parents' anniversary end in disaster. After arguing about what to do for their special evening, Janet and Marshall stop speaking to each other. Then Clarissa's homemade cake for the event almost explodes.

star 7.25
4 votes
Clarissa News Network

#12 - Clarissa News Network

Season 1 - Episode 5 - Aired Apr 6, 1991

Clarissa dreams about being a TV journalist like her idol, Jane Pauley. Meanwhile, Janet faces her old dance school friend who steals one of Janet's best moves. Ferguson cons Marshall into buying a rock music casette by pretending to have purchased a tape that will help him learn Swahili.

star 7.09
35 votes
Clarissa's Revenge

#13 - Clarissa's Revenge

Season 1 - Episode 1 - Aired Mar 1, 1991

After Ferguson brings Clarissa's training bra to school for show and tell, Clarissa and Sam hatch a plot to get rid of Ferguson using a straight jacket and a bundle of helium balloons.

star 7.02
47 votes
Haunted House

#14 - Haunted House

Season 1 - Episode 6 - Aired Apr 13, 1991

When annoying Aunt Mafalda visits from Canada, Clarissa tries to scare her off by pretending the house is haunted. The haunting doesn't work quite the way Clarissa had hoped, so she sets up a seance to contact Aunt Mafalda's deceased husband.

star 7.00
36 votes
Parents Who Say No!

#15 - Parents Who Say No!

Season 1 - Episode 11 - Aired Jun 15, 1991

Bored with 'kiddie' jobs like babysitting, Clarissa asks for permission to apply for a job at the Baxter Beach Carnival. But even after her parents say no, she still goes ahead and applies.

star 7.00
3 votes
Cool Dad

#16 - Cool Dad

Season 1 - Episode 12 - Aired Jun 8, 1991

Clarissa is embarrassed when her dad plans to speak at her school's career night. Things get worse when her dad tries to get hip, quick!

star 7.00
2 votes
Sam Darling

#17 - Sam Darling

Season 2 - Episode 3 - Aired Mar 1, 1992

While staying with the Darlings for a weekend, Sam seems to be spending all of his time with Mr. and Mrs. Darling, making Clarissa jealous. Both Ferguson and Clarissa plan how to get rid of Sam.

star 7.00
2 votes
Can't Buy Love

#18 - Can't Buy Love

Season 2 - Episode 11 - Aired Aug 29, 1992

Ferguson's new friend, J. Elliot Fundsworth III is the founder of the Junior Yacht Club and Ferguson will do anything to join. However, trouble ensues when Ferguson realized that J. Elliot is really only interested in Clarissa.

star 7.00
2 votes
The Darling Wars

#19 - The Darling Wars

Season 3 - Episode 4 - Aired Oct 24, 1992

Clarissa and Ferguson are left home for the night and try to scare each other with a huge war of spooky pranks. However, they both end up being scared out of their wits when someone tries to come inside the house.

star 7.00
2 votes

#20 - ESP R Us

Season 4 - Episode 2 - Aired Mar 27, 1993

Olivia believes that she has psychic powers, but Clarissa doesn't believe it. After Olivia takes an ESP test and unknowningly committs herself and Clarissa to receiving psychic-related items in the mail, they have to figure out how to pay for the merchandise.

star 7.00
2 votes

#21 - Commitment

Season 4 - Episode 3 - Aired Apr 17, 1993

Clarissa starts to have commitment fears in her relationship with Clifford. Meanwhile, Ferguson tries to get into the Guinness Book Of Records by making the world's largest rubber band ball.

star 7.00
2 votes
Road Trip

#22 - Road Trip

Season 4 - Episode 4 - Aired May 8, 1993

The annual family vacation to Lake Winnemucca is usually filled with doom and disaster. This year the family decides to give the Grand Canyon a try as a change of pace. Trouble ensues when all plans for the upcoming vacation start to go wrong.

star 7.00
2 votes
The Bicycle Thief

#23 - The Bicycle Thief

Season 4 - Episode 5 - Aired May 22, 1993

After leaving her bike out in the front yard, Clarissa finds that it's been stolen. She soon finds out that while it may not have been a car, it was her only mode of transportation.

star 7.00
2 votes
Boy Thoughts

#24 - Boy Thoughts

Season 4 - Episode 6 - Aired Jun 19, 1993

Ferguson convinces Clarissa's boyfriend Clifford to star in his cable access show called 'Boy Thoughts'. But once the show is a hit, Clifford doesn't have time for Clarissa.

star 7.00
2 votes
Hero Worship

#25 - Hero Worship

Season 4 - Episode 7 - Aired Jun 26, 1993

Clarissa has a problem when Eve, the meek and mousy new girl in school, starts copying her style and taking over her life. Clarissa is annoyed but flattered until Eve steals her idea for a newspaper article. Then it becomes war.

star 7.00
2 votes