The BEST seasons of Adventure Time

Every season of Adventure Time ever, ranked from best to worst by thousands of votes from fans of the show. The best seasons of Adventure Time!

Adventure Time follows two best friends: Finn (a 12-year old boy) and Jake (a wise 28-year-old dog with magical powers), and the surreal adventures undertaken by the duo as they traverse the mystical Land of Ooo. A world built for adventure, Ooo is filled to the brim with various landscapes for the two buddies to explore and bizarre characters to assist.

Last Updated: 9/29/2023Network: Cartoon NetworkStatus: Ended
Season 5
265 votes

#1 - Season 5

First Aired 11/12/2012

The season has been met with largely positive critical reception. In June 2013, the series was nominated for "Best Animated Series" at the 2013 Critics' Choice Television Awards. At the 65th Primetime Emmy Awards, "Simon & Marcy", was nominated for a Primetime Emmy Award for Short-format Animation, and former character designer Andy Ristaino won an Emmy for "Outstanding Individual Achievement In Animation" for his character designs in the episode "Puhoy".

Season 8
359 votes

#2 - Season 8

First Aired 3/26/2016

Season 7
325 votes

#3 - Season 7

First Aired 11/2/2015

Main story arcs for this season include Bubblegum adjusting to life in exile and eventually reclaiming the Candy Kingdom crown, and Marceline coming to terms with her vampiric nature.

Season 4
285 votes

#4 - Season 4

First Aired 4/2/2012

The season was met with largely positive critical reception. In addition, several episodes were nominated for awards; The episodes "Princess Cookie", "The Hard Easy", "Lady & Peebles", and "Goliad" were all nominated for Annie Awards. The episode "Card Wars", however, won a Golden Reel Awards.

Season 6
216 votes

#5 - Season 6

First Aired 4/21/2014

The season follows the adventures of Finn the Human, a human boy, and his best friend Jake, a dog with magical powers to change shape, grow, and shrink at will. Finn and Jake live in the post-apocalyptic Land of Ooo. Along the way, they interact with the other main characters of the show: Princess Bubblegum, The Ice King, and Marceline the Vampire Queen. Common storylines revolve around Finn and Jake discovering strange creatures, dealing with the antagonistic but misunderstood Ice King, and battling monsters in order to help others.

Season 3
302 votes

#6 - Season 3

First Aired 7/11/2011

The season was met with largely positive critical reception. In addition, several episodes and writers were nominated for awards; the episode "Thank You" was nominated for an Annie Award as well as an award at the Sundance Film Festival. "Too Young" was nominated for an Emmy Award. Storyboard artist Rebecca Sugar was also nominated for an Annie Award.

Season 10
155 votes

#7 - Season 10

First Aired 9/17/2017

The tenth and final season of Adventure Time.

Season 9
233 votes

#8 - Season 9

First Aired 4/21/2017

Season 2
361 votes

#9 - Season 2

First Aired 10/11/2010

In 2011, Adventure Time was nominated for an Annie Award, and the episode "It Came from the Nightosphere" was nominated for a Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Short-format Animated Program.

Season 1
430 votes

#10 - Season 1

First Aired 4/5/2010

Soon after airing, the show began to receive critical acclaim as well as a large fan following. In 2010, the Adventure Time episode "My Two Favorite People" was even nominated for a Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Short-format Animated Program, although the series did not win.