The BEST Seasons of Call the Midwife

Every season ever - ranked by fan votes!

Last Updated: Mar 30, 2020

Network: BBC One

Call the Midwife is a drama series adapted for television by Heidi Thomas from Jennifer Worth's best selling memoir of the same name. The series is a colourful look at the world of midwifery and family life in 1950s East End London. Jenny joins an eccentric community of nursing nuns having just qualified.

#1 - Season 9

First Aired: Jan 5, 2020

star 9.33
3 votes
Season 2

#2 - Season 2

First Aired: Jan 20, 2013

The second season sees young nurse Jenny Lee continue her work as a midwife in the local community alongside the Nuns of the Order of St. Raymond of Nonnatus.

star 8.80
50 votes

#3 - Season 5

First Aired: Jan 17, 2016

In season five, Sister Monica Joan goes missing at Christmas time leaving the nuns and nurses distraught. Shelagh rushes to put together a children’s choir in time for a BBC broadcast from the church. Elsewhere Trixie, having battled through her issues with alcohol, finds a new purpose in her keep fit classes. And could friendship blossom into something more for vicar Tom Hereward and Barbara?

star 8.80
25 votes
Season 1

#4 - Season 1

First Aired: Jan 15, 2012

In season one we are introduced to the local community through the eyes of young nurse Jenny Lee as she lives and works as a midwife alongside the Nuns of the Order of St. Raymond of Nonnatus in the deprived Poplar district of London's desperately poor East End in the 1950s.

star 8.80
64 votes

#5 - Season 6

First Aired: Jan 22, 2017

It is now 1962, and the Nonnatus House team are as committed to caring for the people of Poplar as always. However, the social revolution in the outside world is mirrored by change and challenge much closer to home. As they strive to help mothers and families cope with the demands of childbearing, disability, disease and social prejudice, our beloved medics must make choices - and fight battles - of their own. Series six will see them laugh together, cry together, and pull together, supporting each other as never before.

star 8.71
17 votes

#6 - Season 3

First Aired: Jan 19, 2014

This season, Chummy, PC Noakes and baby Freddy are back in the East End and Jenny faces huge challenges both personally and professionally.

star 8.53
38 votes

#7 - Season 8

First Aired: Jan 13, 2019

star 8.43
7 votes

#8 - Season 4

First Aired: Jan 18, 2015

Season four finds the community preparing to enter a new decade - the 1960s. Nurse Trixie receives a proposal from handsome young curate Tom Hereward. Nurse Cynthia starts to think seriously about joining the order as a nun, something that shocks both Trixie and Patsy. And an unexpected set of events sees Chummy take on the challenge of running a mother and baby home for unmarried girls.

star 8.41
32 votes

#9 - Season 7

First Aired: Jan 21, 2018

In series seven, the nuns and nurses are tested as they have never been before, both personally and professionally. All around them they see the old East End vanishing, as slum clearances make way for bold new tower blocks to accommodate expanding communities. Their work brings them into contact with a wide range of challenges, from leprosy and stroke, to Huntington's chorea, cataracts and unmarried mothers. Trixie's romance with Christopher continues to develop, while Tom and Barbara enjoy life as a married couple. Nurse Crane finds her authority questioned from an unexpected quarter and Sister Monica Joan is forced to accept her failing faculties. Meanwhile, life for the Turners is turned upside down when Shelagh decides to employ an au pair.

star 7.91
11 votes