The BEST Episodes of World Without End

Every episode ever - ranked by fan votes!

Last Updated: May 8, 2020

Network: Showcase (CA)

In World Without End, a king's murder binds four lives together in a complex web of love, betrayal and revenge. Two teenagers witness an incident in the woods that will change the course of a nation. Soon after the death of Edward II, a strange knight takes refuge in Kingsbridge Priory. Chaos and death follow him, disrupting the town's settled existence as never before. England is on the brink of a devastating war with France that will last over a hundred years while a terrible plague is spreading through Europe that will wipe out a third of the continent's population before it is over.


#1 - Checkmate

Season 1 - Episode 8 - Aired Oct 23, 2012

Caris and Merthin are reunited in love, but it may be too late. Godwyn will stop at nothing to destroy Caris and see her burned as a witch. The King’s Army arrives to quell the peasant rebellion and destroy Kingsbridge. Brother Thomas reveals a great secret.

star 8.04
465 votes

#2 - Pawns

Season 1 - Episode 5 - Aired Oct 2, 2012

Forced to become a nun, Caris travels to France to petition the King to stop Godwyn’s sinister plans. She finds herself in the middle of a spectacular war raging between England and France. The British army is surrounded on all sides and faces defeat.

star 7.88
548 votes

#3 - Check

Season 1 - Episode 4 - Aired Sep 25, 2012

Petranilla will stop at nothing to see Godwyn’s power rise continue. When Caris tries to foil Godwyn’s plans, she is framed for murder and faces execution.

star 7.82
585 votes

#4 - Rook

Season 1 - Episode 6 - Aired Oct 9, 2012

The Black Death makes it way to England. Kingsbridge is ravaged by the plague and the town descends into chaos.

star 7.78
571 votes

#5 - King

Season 1 - Episode 2 - Aired Sep 11, 2012

Kingsbridge is busy with its Fleece Fair, but the town's creaking, rickety bridge may fail any day. After being forced into a loveless marriage, Caris continues to see Merthin and tries to win him the opportunity to rebuild the town's bridge. A witch trial results in spectacular tragedy.

star 7.61
720 votes

#6 - Queen

Season 1 - Episode 7 - Aired Oct 17, 2012

Godwyn is shocked to discover Caris has been made Prior. A peasant rebellion rises up against Kingsbridge’s Crown-appointed Lord Ralph.

star 7.44
478 votes

#7 - Prior

Season 1 - Episode 3 - Aired Sep 18, 2012

After the bridge collapse, Caris helps the wounded and hopes to open a hospital. Godwyn schemes to become Prior following the suspicious drowning of Prior Anthony. King Edward III declares war on France, and the Hundred Years' War begins.

star 7.40
789 votes

#8 - Knight

Season 1 - Episode 1 - Aired Sep 4, 2012

Queen Isabella defeats and imprisons her husband King Edward II, crowning their young son Edward III. In the town of Kingsbridge, made famous in PILLARS OF THE EARTH, rumors are rampant that the imprisoned King has been murdered. A knight filled with secrets arrives in Kingsbridge seeking sanctuary. He will change the fate of all its citizens.

star 7.02
1,057 votes