The BEST Episodes of Breaking Amish

Every episode ever - ranked by fan votes!

Last Updated: Mar 26, 2021

Network: TLC

In a world where "plain" is considered a compliment, TLC will pull back the curtains to reveal the strict traditions of the Amish/Mennonite religion and lifestyle as cameras follow five people who have chosen to leave it behind and explore the world outside of their community. Breaking Amish, premiering Sunday, Sept. 9 at 10|9c, provides a never-before-seen look inside the lives of young men and women as they, for the first time, trade horse and buggy with taxi cabs to break out from their respective Amish/Mennonite communities in their pursuit to chase big dreams in the Big Apple. The groundbreaking series features nine hour-long episodes. Breaking Amish will shed light on many firsts for the cast members. From flying in a plane and wearing jeans, to using a cell phone and electricity, the show will highlight their transition into city culture and the basic amenities that come with it. Unlike Rumspringa, these young men and women get serious about the possibility of committing to careers, lives and options for living indefinitely on the outside. But after these new experiences and the opportunity to live out dreams take flight, will they take advantage of New York and carry out their newfound lives while leaving behind the Amish/Mennonite community and their families forever? The decision to pack up their bags and leave town does not come without a hefty price. Breaking Amish will unveil the disenchantment of family members who are forced to shun their own children, siblings and grandchildren as they decide to explore a world beyond the limitations of their simple upbringing. Should these "rebellious" Amish/Mennonite members decide to forgo Western luxuries and return to their previous lifestyles, they risk the probability of being shunned by their community altogether -- including the family, friends and life they once knew so well.

Watch Now
Party Time

#1 - Party Time

Season 1 - Episode 9 - Aired Nov 4, 2012

Sabrina uncovers her late birth mother's letters. Kate begins to accept the reality of her situation. Abe and Rebecca plan their eventual wedding. Jeremiah and Sabrina plan bachelor and bachelorette parties respectively for the engaged.

star 8.30
61 votes
Breaking All the Rules

#2 - Breaking All the Rules

Season 1 - Episode 3 - Aired Sep 23, 2012

The cast breaks Amish & Mennonite rules by buying "English" clothes and getting tattoos. The cast grows more comfortable in the city when they get wardrobe makeovers and tattoos, and Kate and Rebecca mull modeling careers, but surprise visits by Abe's and Rebecca's families could put an end to this experiment. Also, Jeremiah has his first driving lesson.

star 8.04
74 votes
What Have We Gotten Ourselves Into?

#3 - What Have We Gotten Ourselves Into?

Season 1 - Episode 2 - Aired Sep 16, 2012

Romance may be in the offing as the newcomers adjust to life in New York City, but their fresh start also comes with an air of tension.

star 7.97
109 votes
Sin City

#4 - Sin City

Season 2 - Episode 6 - Aired Aug 25, 2013

star 7.92
26 votes
Final Days

#5 - Final Days

Season 1 - Episode 7 - Aired Oct 21, 2012

Kate finds she is ousted from the others. Sabrina learns the whereabouts of her biological father, though she and Jeremiah keep a secret from the rest. Rebecca reveals a part of her past that she is not really in the mood to discuss. The cast makes a tough decision while packing their bags

star 7.91
96 votes
Seizing the Moment

#6 - Seizing the Moment

Season 3 - Episode 9 - Aired Nov 13, 2014

Matt's spirits are high after his first live musical performance, but his mood changes after hearing shocking news from Venus. Meanwhile, Vonda starts to get over her late boyfriend; and Bates mulls a life-altering decision.

star 7.88
16 votes

#7 - Exile

Season 2 - Episode 5 - Aired Aug 18, 2013

star 7.85
26 votes
Black Sheep

#8 - Black Sheep

Season 2 - Episode 3 - Aired Aug 4, 2013

star 7.81
27 votes
Family Secrets

#9 - Family Secrets

Season 2 - Episode 1 - Aired Jul 21, 2013

star 7.75
28 votes
Road Not Taken

#10 - Road Not Taken

Season 3 - Episode 1 - Aired Sep 18, 2014

Miriam, Vonda, Barbie, Bates and Matthias—mulling a move to Brooklyn, where they will have to adjust to life in the city and wonder if they'll leave their rural communities forever.

star 7.74
61 votes
Jumping the Fence

#11 - Jumping the Fence

Season 1 - Episode 1 - Aired Sep 9, 2012

The premiere of a reality series following five men and women from Amish and Mennonite communities as they seek the possibility of leaving their old lives behind for new ones in New York City, though they also run the risk of saying good-bye to their family and friends forever.

star 7.71
129 votes
Decision Time

#12 - Decision Time

Season 1 - Episode 8 - Aired Oct 28, 2012

The men and women go home to decide whether they will return to their communities or leave them behind for a new life, which may mean saying good-bye to their families and friends forever.

star 7.69
67 votes
What Tomorrow May Bring

#13 - What Tomorrow May Bring

Season 3 - Episode 8 - Aired Nov 6, 2014

The Family is brought together by Miriam's return to New York, but not for long; Bates focuses on his acting career but misses his mother support.

star 7.67
21 votes

#14 - Exodus

Season 2 - Episode 2 - Aired Jul 28, 2013

star 7.67
27 votes
The Shunning Truth Part 2

#15 - The Shunning Truth Part 2

Season 1 - Episode 12 - Aired Nov 18, 2012

During a reunion special, the cast addresses the rumors and allegations that have surfaced.

star 7.65
23 votes
Good vs Evil

#16 - Good vs Evil

Season 1 - Episode 6 - Aired Oct 14, 2012

Kate, Sabrina, Abe and Rebecca visit the Sex Museum; Kate is in a bikini for her first photo shoot; Abe wants to take it to the next level with Rebecca; allegations of witchcraft.

star 7.64
70 votes
Out With the Old

#17 - Out With the Old

Season 3 - Episode 6 - Aired Oct 23, 2014

The group decides to ditch their Amish clothes, but one of them goes missing. Miriam focuses on her dreams, Matt's marriage takes a drastic turn and Bates is blind-sided by his girlfriend back home.

star 7.63
24 votes
Judgment Day

#18 - Judgment Day

Season 2 - Episode 7 - Aired Sep 1, 2013

star 7.63
24 votes
Into the Fire

#19 - Into the Fire

Season 2 - Episode 8 - Aired Sep 8, 2013

star 7.58
26 votes
Make Things Right

#20 - Make Things Right

Season 3 - Episode 7 - Aired Oct 30, 2014

Matt and Bates go home to salvage their relationships with the women they love, but Bates begins to realize it may be too late and that his real family may be in New York.

star 7.56
16 votes
What Is Really Happening

#21 - What Is Really Happening

Season 1 - Episode 5 - Aired Oct 7, 2012

The cast disagrees about the good and bad of being Amish; Sabrina wants to connect to the Puerto Rican culture; Kate's DUI past starts to catch up to her.

star 7.50
40 votes
Bright Lights, Big Sinners

#22 - Bright Lights, Big Sinners

Season 3 - Episode 3 - Aired Oct 2, 2014

The group stay in a hostel on their first night in Brooklyn, and spend the next day exploring New York City, including Times Square.

star 7.50
24 votes
New Beginnings

#23 - New Beginnings

Season 1 - Episode 4 - Aired Sep 30, 2012

Rebecca confronts a difficult episode from her past. Kate succumbs to the pressure of being shunned by her family. Sabrina tries to find out more about her ethnic background. Jeremiah continues his driving lessons with a different instructor.

star 7.49
79 votes

#24 - Metamorphosis

Season 2 - Episode 4 - Aired Aug 11, 2013

star 7.46
24 votes
Cast Off

#25 - Cast Off

Season 2 - Episode 10 - Aired Sep 22, 2013

star 7.38
13 votes