The BEST Seasons of Upstairs, Downstairs

Every season ever - ranked by fan votes!

Last Updated: Mar 21, 2021

Network: ITV1

Covering a span of 27 years (1903-1930), Upstairs, Downstairs follows the lives of the wealthy Bellamy family residing upstairs at 165 Eaton Place, London, as well as the lives of those employed in their service living downstairs. Richard Bellamy, the son of a poor parson, is married to Lady Marjorie, the daughter of the wealthy Earl and Countess of Southwold, whose family money provides for the Bellamy's lavish lifestyle. As an influential member of the Conservative party, the Earl secures a seat in Parliament for Richard, with the expectation that he will support conservative policies. He tries his best to please his wife's family but, being a Liberal at heart, Richard finds it's not always that easy. These political and financial differences are a reoccurring source of contention for the Bellamys. On the surface, the lives of the family living upstairs couldn't seem more different than those of the servants living below but, strangely enough, through the years their lives often intersect, becoming increasingly entwined as time goes by. The addition of real-life events, like the tragic sinking of the RMS Titanic and the horrors of World War I, incorporated into the storylines add a touch of authenticity and realism to the show.

Season 4

#1 - Season 4

First Aired: Sep 13, 1974

star 10.00
1 votes
Season 5

#2 - Season 5

First Aired: Sep 6, 1975

star 10.00
1 votes
Season 3

#3 - Season 3

First Aired: Oct 26, 1973

star 9.00
1 votes
Season 1

#4 - Season 1

First Aired: Oct 9, 1971

star 8.50
2 votes
Season 2

#5 - Season 2

First Aired: Oct 20, 1972

star 8.50
2 votes