The Frankenstein Chronicles

The BEST episodes of The Frankenstein Chronicles

Every episode ever - ranked by fan votes!

Inspector John Marlott investigates a series of crimes in 19th Century London, which may have been committed by a scientist intent on re-animating the dead.

Last Updated: 5/11/2022Network: ITV Encore
Little Boy Lost
233 votes

#1 - Little Boy Lost

Season 2 - Episode 4 - Aired 11/22/2017

An unexpected encounter with the mysterious Frederick Dipple suggests that Marlott needs to protect his allies, who he realizes are increasingly in danger.

Watch Now:Amazon
Seeing the Dead
236 votes

#2 - Seeing the Dead

Season 2 - Episode 3 - Aired 11/15/2017

Marlott is convinced that Billy Oates and the origin of the fever killing local families will lead him to Lord Daniel Hervey.

Lost and Found
394 votes

#3 - Lost and Found

Season 1 - Episode 6 - Aired 12/16/2015

Marlott finally pieces together the movements at the hospital, but the number of suspects continue to plague his mind. Robert Peel meets with William Chester. Marlott gets authorization to use a pistol.

Directors: Benjamin Ross
Watch Now:Amazon
The Marriage of Heaven and Hell
203 votes

#4 - The Marriage of Heaven and Hell

Season 2 - Episode 5 - Aired 11/29/2017

Marlott's new intelligence brings him closer to a solution and leads him to an apparently deserted tower. However, there are darker and colder dangers inside.

Bride of Frankenstein
193 votes

#5 - Bride of Frankenstein

Season 2 - Episode 6 - Aired 12/6/2017

As the police close in John Marlott needs to rescue Esther from Hervey and Dipple, and resurrect both his own and her fortunes in an epic season finale.

Watch Now:Amazon
Not John Marlott
236 votes

#6 - Not John Marlott

Season 2 - Episode 2 - Aired 11/8/2017

John Marlott adopts a new identity and gains employment. He believes someone is lying about the recent murders of local clergymen and he is determined to uncover the truth in his search for justice.

The Frankenstein Murders
412 votes

#7 - The Frankenstein Murders

Season 1 - Episode 5 - Aired 12/9/2015

Boz publishes a newspaper article about the murders which causes a public outcry and infuriates Peel on the eve of the Anatomy Act. Mary Shelley, the author of Frankenstein, follows her own line of enquiry into the medical practice of Sir William Chester, uncovering secrets from the past. Marlott decides to go back to Greenwich where it all began - is there something he is missing?

Directors: Benjamin Ross
Watch Now:Amazon
All the Lost Children
496 votes

#8 - All the Lost Children

Season 1 - Episode 3 - Aired 11/25/2015

Having escaped the clutches of Billy Oates, Flora throws herself on Marlott's mercy. Believing her to be a key witness to Alice's disappearance, he brings her to his lodgings for safety. As the investigation continues, Marlott travels to Kentish Town to interrogate Mary Shelley. The connection between her monster and the child corpse cannot be a mere coincidence…

Directors: Benjamin Ross
A World Without God
679 votes

#9 - A World Without God

Season 1 - Episode 1 - Aired 11/11/2015

The police apprehend a gang of opium smugglers on the banks of the Thames, but as he stands at the water's edge, Inspector John Marlott makes a shocking discovery. The body of a dead child is washed up on the shore, but further examination of the corpse reveals a grotesque state of mutilation. Home Secretary Sir Robert Peel orders Marlott to lead the investigation, while details of the investigation must remain confidential.

Directors: Benjamin Ross
Seeing Things
528 votes

#10 - Seeing Things

Season 1 - Episode 2 - Aired 11/18/2015

After his discovery on the banks of the Thames, Inspector Marlott visits the house of artist and printmaker William Blake, who is on his deathbed. Later, Marlott confers with Nightingale, a local policeman who has been keeping watch on The Fortune of War, a public house where body snatchers are known to gather. The pair create a plan to capture a person of interest who may be able to aid them with their investigation.

Directors: Benjamin Ross
The Fortunes of War
447 votes

#11 - The Fortunes of War

Season 1 - Episode 4 - Aired 12/2/2015

Marlott takes a terrified Pritty on their assignation to meet the men who kill for money – they find themselves in the tunnels under Smithfield market, which run from the Fortune of War pub to St Bart's Hospital. Flora has returned to Marlott's lodgings, but now she is back Marlott intends to use her as bait for the murderous gang, much against Nightingale's wishes.

Directors: Benjamin Ross
Prodigal Son
314 votes

#12 - Prodigal Son

Season 2 - Episode 1 - Aired 11/1/2017

London 1830. John Marlott escapes the Bethlem Hospital seeking his revenge on Lord Daniel Hervey. The hunter soon becomes the hunted.