The BEST Episodes of The American West

Every episode ever - ranked by fan votes!

Last Updated: Sep 25, 2021

Network: AMC

Spanning the years 1865 to 1890, The American West, will show how -- in the aftermath of the Civil War -- the United States transforms into the “land of opportunity.” Viewers will be transported into the violent world of cowboys, Indians, outlaws and law men. The 8-episode limited event series chronicles the personal, little-known stories of Western legends such as Jesse James, Billy the Kid, Wyatt Earp, Crazy Horse and Sitting Bull. The series features exclusive interviews with notable names from classic Western films, including Robert Redford, James Caan, Burt Reynolds, Tom Selleck, Kiefer Sutherland, Mark Harmon, Ed Harris and more.

Watch Now
The Last Vendetta

#1 - The Last Vendetta

Season 1 - Episode 8 - Aired Jul 30, 2016

In the series finale, Wyatt Earp abandons the law in search of justice; and Jesse James is confronted by the Ford brothers. Meanwhile, Sitting Bull is accused of inciting a rebellion.

star 7.96
187 votes
The Big Killing

#2 - The Big Killing

Season 1 - Episode 6 - Aired Jul 16, 2016

Billy the Kid seeks revenge for the death of his friend; and Wyatt Earp questions his future as a lawman. Meanwhile, Jesse James reemerges from years of hiding.

star 7.71
206 votes
Frontier Justice

#3 - Frontier Justice

Season 1 - Episode 7 - Aired Jul 23, 2016

Billy the Kid and Pat Garrett's cat-and-mouse game comes to a head and Wyatt Earp moves to Tombstone. Meanwhile, Sitting Bull returns to America.

star 7.67
209 votes

#4 - Showdown

Season 1 - Episode 4 - Aired Jul 2, 2016

Custer rides to a showdown with the Sioux at Little Big Horn. Elsewhere, Jesse James targets a bank in the northern territory, hoping to make a big statement.

star 7.65
240 votes
Outlaw Rising

#5 - Outlaw Rising

Season 1 - Episode 5 - Aired Jul 9, 2016

Billy the Kid uses his talents with a gun to get what he wants; and Wyatt Earp fights for justice. Meanwhile, Sitting Bull and Crazy Horse make a big decision.

star 7.62
227 votes
Blood and Gold

#6 - Blood and Gold

Season 1 - Episode 3 - Aired Jun 25, 2016

Allan Pinkerton is hired to bring Jesse James to justice. Meanwhile, settlers flock onto Sioux land to mine gold as Grant desperately tries to keep peace.

star 7.55
298 votes
Two Front War

#7 - Two Front War

Season 1 - Episode 2 - Aired Jun 18, 2016

Jesse James targets the railroads and Custer is sent on a secret mission into Sioux territory. Meanwhile, President Ulysses S Grant deals with growing unrest in the West and South.

star 7.53
350 votes
America Divided

#8 - America Divided

Season 1 - Episode 1 - Aired Jun 11, 2016

Jesse James forms a gang in order to ensure his family's survival and General George Custer looks for glory in the Indian Wars. Meanwhile, Crazy Horse fights back against the United States in the series premiere of this docudrama.

star 7.25
526 votes