The BEST Episodes of Surviving Jack

Every episode ever - ranked by fan votes!

Last Updated: Nov 19, 2019

Network: FOX

Set in Southern California, in 1991, the series centers on Jack Dunlevy, an ex-military man and no-nonsense guy who becomes a full-time parent when his wife decides to go to law school. He takes an unorthodox approach to keeping his teenagers, Frankie and Rachel, in line.

Parents Just Don't Understand

#1 - Parents Just Don't Understand

Season 1 - Episode 7

Jack and Joanne are at odds with each other when both kids betray their trust - Frankie has his first taste of alcohol at a varsity baseball party, and Rachel wants to go on birth control.

star 8.44
128 votes
Rhythm is a Dancer

#2 - Rhythm is a Dancer

Season 1 - Episode 4

It's homecoming night, but Frankie is bummed that his crush, Heather, is promised to another date and Rachel is protesting the school's "No Grinding" policy. Meanwhile, with the kids out of the house, Jack and Joanne are planning a passionate night to themselves.

star 8.38
141 votes
Something to Talk About

#3 - Something to Talk About

Season 1 - Episode 5

During an evening of inopportune timing, Frankie introduces his new girlfriend, Heather, to Joanne, who has just gotten her tubes tied and is still on pain medication. Instead of taking care of Joanne post-surgery, Jack has his hands full policing Frankie and Rachel. Meanwhile, George and Mikey try to retrieve a porn video they disguised in a "Casablanca" VHS case that has been placed into the wrong hands at the Dunlevy house.

star 8.37
142 votes
She Drives Me Crazy

#4 - She Drives Me Crazy

Season 1 - Episode 6

In an effort to have Rachel more engaged in school and take her future seriously, Jack gets her a spot on the wrestling team, much to the chagrin of the wrestling coach. Meanwhile, Joanne realizes that Frankie is now too embarrassed to be seen with her during their annual mother-son trip.

star 8.30
141 votes
How Do You Talk to an Angel

#5 - How Do You Talk to an Angel

Season 1 - Episode 3

Frankie tries to find the right moment to ask his crush Heather to the homecoming dance, but when he finally works up the courage, she's already said yes to someone else. Meanwhile, Jack punishes Rachel by making her drive George to school.

star 8.19
153 votes
Gonna Make You Sweat

#6 - Gonna Make You Sweat

Season 1 - Episode 2

Frankie, George and Mikey ask Jack to coach them for varsity baseball tryouts, but little do they know what’s in store when Jack takes the training to the most intense level. Meanwhile, as the Dunlevy house becomes the cool hangout spot, Joanne crosses the line by getting too involved in Rachel’s love life.

star 8.07
173 votes

#7 - Pilot

Season 1 - Episode 1

Jack Dunlevy, a strict ex-military man, takes over raising the children while his wife returns to school. First up, his son Frankie is having girl problems while his daughter Rachel gets caught with her boyfriend in her room.

star 8.03
201 votes
Directors: Victor Nelli
Writers: Justin Halpern, Patrick Schumacker