The BEST Episodes of Dark Shadows (1991)

Every episode ever - ranked by fan votes!

Last Updated: Oct 12, 2021

Network: NBC

The series starts with the resurrection of Barnabas Collins, who has been in his coffin since 1790. Dr. Julia Hoffman helps cure his vampirism, and he is released from the curse that Angelique Collins put on him. After a seance where Barnabas was trying to contact his sister Sarah, Victoria is transported to 1790.

Watch Now
Episode Four

#1 - Episode Four

Season 1 - Episode 4 - Aired Jan 18, 1991

The mysterious child ghost of Sarah Collins appears to Victoria Winters, and leads her to a library in Collinwood's closed-off west wing, and gives her an old diary. Barnabas and his servant, Willie Loomis, are stunned when the evil apparition of the witch Angelique materializes from the fire in the fireplace.

star 7.91
11 votes
Episode Five

#2 - Episode Five

Season 1 - Episode 5 - Aired Jan 25, 1991

Learning of Barnabas Collins' growing affection for Victoria Winters, a jealous Dr. Julia Hoffman decides to not yet fully cure Barnabas. Losing control, Barnabas attacks Carolyn Stoddard.

star 7.82
11 votes
Episode Six

#3 - Episode Six

Season 1 - Episode 6 - Aired Feb 1, 1991

At the Collinwood costume party, Barnabas warns Dr. Julia Hoffman that he will have his revenge on her. When a seance is held to contact Sarah Collins' spirit, governess Victoria Winters vanishes and a strange woman appears in her place.

star 7.78
9 votes
Episode Two

#4 - Episode Two

Season 1 - Episode 2 - Aired Jan 14, 1991

After being attacked by Barnabas Collins, Daphne Collins dies and rises as a vampire. Dr. Julia Hoffman learns Barnabas' secret and offers to help cure him of his vampirism.

star 7.75
16 votes
Episode Eight

#5 - Episode Eight

Season 1 - Episode 8 - Aired Feb 15, 1991

In 1790, a jealous Angelique schemes to use her witchcraft to prevent the marriage of Barnabas Collins and Josette DuPres. In 1991, the Collinses learn the identify of the stranger from 1790.

star 7.71
7 votes
Episode One

#6 - Episode One

Season 1 - Episode 1 - Aired Jan 13, 1991

Handyman Willie Loomis accidentally releases vampire Barnabas Collins from his chained coffin. Barnabas introduces himself to the Collins family as a distant relative from England and begins to romance beautiful new governess Victoria Winters. The town of Collinsport is soon terrorized by a series of deadly attacks.

star 7.69
29 votes
Directors: Dan Curtis
Writers: Bill Taub, Dan Curtis, Hall Powell, Steve Feke
Episode Three

#7 - Episode Three

Season 1 - Episode 3 - Aired Jan 14, 1991

Dr. Julia Hoffman begins her experiments to help cure Barnabas Collins of his vampirism. Professor Michael Woodard threatens Barnabas' safety, as he attempts to uncover the identity of the vampire.

star 7.60
15 votes
Episode Eleven

#8 - Episode Eleven

Season 1 - Episode 11 - Aired Mar 15, 1991

In 1790, Victoria Winters' witchcraft trial begins, Angelique's spirit tries to stop Barnabas Collins from making Josette DuPres his vampire bride. In 1991, Angelique possesses Dr. Julia Hoffman.

star 7.25
8 votes
Episode Seven

#9 - Episode Seven

Season 1 - Episode 7 - Aired Feb 8, 1991

In 1991, the Collins family fears for Victoria Winters, knowing that she has been transported to the year 1790. In the eighteenth century, Victoria meets the residents of Collinwood.

star 7.00
9 votes
Episode Nine

#10 - Episode Nine

Season 1 - Episode 9 - Aired Mar 1, 1991

In 1790, a grieving Josette DuPres bitterly accuses Barnabas Collins of killing her only true love. Abigail Collins enlists the aid of Reverend Trask to have Victoria Winters jailed for witchcraft.

star 6.89
9 votes
Episode Ten

#11 - Episode Ten

Season 1 - Episode 10 - Aired Mar 8, 1991

In 1790, the Collins family mourns the apparent death of Barnabas Collins as they move into the new Collinwood mansion. After rising as a vampire, Barnabas attacks Josette DuPres.

star 6.80
10 votes
Episode Twelve

#12 - Episode Twelve

Season 1 - Episode 12 - Aired Mar 22, 1991

In 1790, Barnabas' vampirism is discovered. Joshua A. Collins and lawyer Peter Bradford desperately try to save Victoria Winters from being hung as a witch. In 1991, Victoria's return from the past is jeopardized as Angelique's spirit now possessing Maggie Evans plots a murder.

star 6.64
11 votes
Directors: Mark Sobel
Writers: Linda Campanelli, M.M. Shelly Moore, Matthew Hall